Summer “classes”

I’m always looking for new things to do with the kids. We go to parks and museums and take classes (when available). I’ve taught them how to cook and sew and work in the yard (but for some reason that’s a “talent” they don’t use too often). Anyway, the Jule Collins Smith Museum in Auburn had a free weaving class with live jazz and tapas on Thursday night and I decided to take our oldest daughter with me. This was really a fun event. A and I have done some weaving in the past, but these little looms were so basic – just 3 boards nailed together and nails along the top and bottom for the warp threads to hook on. I might have to make one for some summer crafts! We got there a bit late and some of the good yarn was picked-through already, but we chose our loom and yarn and sat down for a 3 hour weaving class.

18114488144_eeb45b72ae_o

18737154865_8f4901ebd0_o
Our tapas plate (after A devoured half of it). This mini-meal was a bit expensive ($20 for 1 plate of 6 miniature crab cakes, a coke and a glass of wine), but it was totally worth it to spend time with my big girl who is growing up way too fast (and won’t want to do things like this with me before too much longer).

18550957619_74cf59e4d0_o
Since A and I had only the 6 tiny crab cakes at the museum, we decided on grilled cheese for a snack when we got home. These were SO yummy… I used the last of a loaf of our homemade bread and thinly sliced some cheddar, mozzarella and gruyere cheese. Melty and creamy…

Leave a Reply

