Scones, scones and more scones

Yesterday – this happened.   Yes, that’s 25 freshly delivered bales of Pinestraw just waiting to be spread in our flower beds. Thankfully I found a place that would deliver, because I think I could only fit like 2 bales in my little car. It took me about 3 hours to get it all down, but I did it! Oh, and leave it to me to pick the hottest day of the year so-far. I started early in the morning, but by the time I was done, it was already about 100 degrees. 

After I finished and got myself cleaned up (I probably lost 2 gallons of sweat yesterday), I decided to bake some more scones. If you know me, you know that I obsess about things. Well, scones are no exception. These babies are INCREDIBLE! Anyway, I made 4 half-batches (so I could experiment with flavors) and the flavors I chose were Parmesan/Rosemary, cha-cha (cheddar & chive), orange vanilla (Orange scone with vanilla glaze) and plain (butter).   I had so much fun experimenting with flavors that I decided to come up with a few more options.  

I’m really excited about the brown sugar pecan and the maple bacon one. On that one I’m going to incorporate the bacon into the scone and do a maple glaze. Mmmmm.  

I’m headed to a lunch lecture in Montgomery today and I’m going to drop off a few of each of them with a friend (if not, Steve and I will be 300 lbs), so I made some cute little labels for them. How cute are these little packages!? 

  

Leave a Reply

