Better-than-Bisquick…

Weekends around our house don’t get started without a sweet breakfast. That’s our thing – donuts, crêpes, pancakes, french toast – there’s just something about the weekend. Maybe it’s the extra time we I have to spend in the kitchen before the kids are up. My internal clock is set for 7am REGARDLESS if it’s the weekend, weekday, kids are spending the night away, we stayed up til after midnight binge-watching House of Cards… 7am and I’m up-and-at-em. Well, this weekend was no exception.

19806728021_a6c54589bd_o
This weekend it was pancakes! I’ve written about this recipe before, but I stand by my comment that it’s the best pancake recipe I’ve ever used. It comes from a blog called “Somewhat Simple” and I stumbled upon it through Pinterest. They’re completely fool-proof and stand up to any addition you might think of. This time I made 2 types – plain (yummie) and chocolate chip for the girls.

The Best Pancake Recipe

adapted from Somewhat Simple

Makes about 16 pancakes I use a 1/4 cup measuring spoon and I think I get about 20-24 pancakes out of this recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 2/3 cups sifted flour
  • 6 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup of sugar I only use 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 4 tbs. cooking oil
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract (this is my addition)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk dry ingredients together.
  2. In a separate smaller bowl, mix together to eggs, milk, vanilla and oil.
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir just until moistened. *Don’t over mix, the batter will be lumpy.
  4. Bake on your griddle or stove top until golden brown on both sides.

For “fancy pancakes,” measure out your batter on the griddle, then sprinkle on whatever you’re going to add (chocolate chips, blueberries, etc.) before they start to bake too much. This will ensure your addition is really incorporated into the pancake and not just sitting on top it.


19806731121_baa14051c0_oIt’s always a crowd-pleaser and SO GOOD with syrup, homemade berry compote, honey, yogurt – whatever you want to top them with! This is truly the simplest recipe I’ve ever used. ALMOST as simple as Bisquick, but SO MUCH tastier!

Steve had to leave shortly after breakfast to go to work for a few hours, but Miss M wanted to MAKE SURE she got in one last wave before he pulled out of the driveway.
19775741666_f3569abb1f_o

Leave a Reply

